BOOK REVIEW: Nightingale by Kristen Hannah

The Nightingale, by Kristen Hannah, was not my choice to read. I read it as a part of an outside reading project for my English class. It was a book-club style project, so we all had to agree on one book. I was by no means excited to read a romance/historical fiction novel, but I had to capitulate.

Now, I’d like to say that I was wrong, and I ended up loving the book, but I’d be lying. I’ve never been a romance/historical fiction type, and I probably won’t ever be. But I still don’t discount the quality of this book. It was very well written, and despite a cliché ending, it was fairly enjoyable.

DSC_0159

Because I read it for an English project, I was able to see a ton of motifs, symbols and themes throughout the book. I think the ability to see these things made the book a lot more enjoyable, especially when I wasn’t in love with the style of the book.

Thanks for reading! I hope you check out The Nightingale, by Kirsten Hannah, and I will see you soon!

-Claire

 

Leave a Reply

