BOOK REVIEW: HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD

I bought Harry Potter and the Cursed Child the day it was released. I did not read it until 2 weeks ago. I really wanted to read it, trust me. But I also knew it was the last time I would ever read a Harry Potter book. I simply had to take some time to prepare. It was most definitely worth it.

It was the best book I’ve read in a long time. I read several reviews, and other people were not as thrilled. Many people said it was basically a fan fiction, which I can definitely see, but I really enjoyed the writing style. It was very different from J.K. Rowling’s normal books.

dsc_2182

SO I really really enjoyed everything about this book. Seeing my favorite characters all grown up and doing normal adult wizard things was weird and cool. I also fell in love with the new characters, their children.

The plot follows outcast best friends Scorpius (Draco’s son) and Albus (Harry’s son). They use a time turner and do stuff and Voldemort is a big part of it too. I don’t want to spoil it, but if you are debating reading it or not, I say do. I can see how someone may be worried that reading it will ruin the series for them, because I had the same fears, but it really felt separate from the old books.

scorpius and albus.jpg

(spoiler): can we just talk about the undeniable chemistry between Scorpius and Albus???? J.K. says its totally platonic, but really, how could you ignore it? There is literally a line that says: (paraphrased) there was a part of scorpius that didn’t like the thought of Albus kissing a girl. people actually got genuinely upset that there wasn’t any true romance. I didn’t get that angry, but I can see why.

dsc_2185

Sorry for that extreme fangirl moment. Basically, this book was very good. I thought it did a good job continuing the saga, and I am genuinely sad that the series is over for good. I am sad that I will never see the play, but this book is a decent replacement.

 

Thanks for reading! Look forward to many more book posts very soon!

 

-claire

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD

  1. I loved this book, too! I am so happy I got the opportunity to read it. #MassivePotterhead
    I would disagree about your thoughts on Scorpius and Albus, though. I thought that they were adorable as best friends, but nothing ever more than that.

    Like

    1. Yes, I can totally see them as friends too! Just can’t deny their chemistry! I’m not usually one to find relationships in every single pair, this was actually the first time!

      Like

Leave a Reply

