MAKING TORTILLA DE PATATAS

A few years back, my old nanny came back from studying abroad in Spain. When she came back, she showed my sister and I how to make tortilla de patatas. A lifelong lover of potatoes, I fell in love. My mother is usually the one to make it, but this week, I decided to try it myself.


This is what I did:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 gold potato
  • 1/4 c. chopped yellow onion
  • 6 large eggs
  • some olive oil (enough to cover the pan with a thin layer)
  • salt

Recipe:

  1. chop potatoes into small cubes.
  2. Heat oil on medium heat in a frypan.
  3. Add potatoes, onions, and salt into pan.
  4. Cook for about 15 min. or until lightly brown.
  5. Turn heat to low, and wait for pan to cool down.
  6. Beat eggs and pour into pan.
  7. Wait until cooked throughout, it can take a long time (if you want it to cook faster, try to flip it. But I warn, you I ruined quite a few of these before mastering it)

I would definitely recommend adding a lot of salt (unless you are afraid of sodium), because this can be fairly bland without it. You can also add things like mushrooms, peppers, or spinach to add flavor.

 

Leave a Reply

