Some *Healthy* Recipes.

Ok so its been a while… I’ve been super busy and have had trouble finding time for blogging. This is going to be a short post, but I hope you still enjoy!

I have been trying eat healthier this year, but its hard to find things that I like.

I really love these recipes, and I came up with them myself. My main new years resolution is, like most people, to eat better. These are recipes that I hope  will help me keep that.

Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie.

IMG_0959.JPG

Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Smoothie.
  • 1 over-ripe banana
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • 1/4 Tbsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup ice

This is SO good! I have it 2-3 times a week and I love it every time. I usually play around with the measurements until I like the taste of it, but I usually go for more banana than peanut butter or cocoa.

Breakfast Scramble.

IMG_0035

This takes about 30 minutes to make, but I love it. It combines everything I love about breakfast into one delicious scramble

Breakfast Scramble.
  • 2 eggs
  • half a medium sized red potato
  • large handful of pre-cooked turkey sausage (I used Jimmy Dean)
  • large handful of shredded cheese (I used colby and monteray jack)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/4 Tbsp. butter
  1. cut a red potato into 1/4  inch cubes. Heat a saucepan over medium heat and add the olive oil. Cook the half the diced potatoes for five minutes, or until lightly browned. Then add the butter and cook for another 6-8 minutes.
  2. Heat the sausage in the microwave or in the pan with the potatoes.
  3. Add the sausage into the pan and lower the heat to low.
  4. Wait for the pan to cool down, then add the eggs.
  5. Either scramble the eggs or make an omelet. You can also add any other toppings like peppers or onions.
  6. After you put the eggs on the plate you have to work quickly. I added salt and pepper and the cheese, then used a piece of tin foil to trap the heat. The heat will melt the cheese.

This may take me a while to make but I love it. Eggs have got to be my favorite breakfast food and potatoes are always good, so combining the two makes a delicious meal in the morning.

Microwave pancake bake.

IMG_0043

My nanny a few years back showed my sister and I this recipe. She said a lot of the girls in her dorm made this. I have made it ever since. Basically, its pancakes in a mug or cereal bowl, minus the eggs. I love to add different toppings like chocolate or cinnamon.

Pancakes in a bowl.
  • pancake mix plus whatever must be added to it
  • any toppings you want to put in it
  1. You basically need to half the recipe on the pancake mix box. So if it calls for 1 cup of mix, then use 1/2 cup. An important part of this recipe is: DO NOT INCLUDE EGGS. Just leave them out of the recipe.
  2. After finishing the pancake mix, pour it into a standard sized cereal bowl. It can fill up almost all of the bowl.
  3. Add toppings like chocolate chips, cocoa powder, cinnamon, apples, or really anything else.
  4. Put the bowl uncovered in the microwave for 1 1/2 minutes to 2 minutes.
  5. Add any more toppings you would like and enjoy!

Apples and Peanut Butter

IMG_0048.JPG

This is probably the easiest snack ever to make, but I love it. My favorite way to eat it is by cutting the apple into cubes and pouring melted peanut butter over them. It’s super filling and the perfect after-school snack!

 

I hope you enjoyed! Please share any recipe ideas you have with me! More posts to come, so follow for updates!

xoxo, Claire

Leave a Reply

