My Favorite Books of 2015

I did a lot of reading this year, so I thought I’d share some of my favorite books.

Some of these are hard copies, and some of them I bought on my Nook.

Paper/Hardback

Wildwood Imperium – Colin Meloy

DSC_0089

This is by far the weirdest series I’ve ever read. They take place in the Impassable Wilderness, supposedly outside of Portland. With talking animals, a trio of magical trees, and a magical boundary separating two very different worlds, this series is anything but ordinary. But it’s also one of my favorite books of all time. Wildwood Imperium is the third and possibly final book in the series, and it does a wonderful job of tying everything together. I was always surprised with multiple plot twists. The artwork on each of the books is also extraordinary.

The Bad Beginning (Series of Unfortunate Events) – Lemony Snicket

DSC_0075

I first read this amazingly weird and cruel series a few years ago, but decided to re-read them this year. Lemony Snicker did a wonderful job, and while the storyline of each book was purposely predictable, I still loved each and every one of the thirteen books. And if you didn’t already know, Netflix is releasing a TV series based on the books sometime in the future.

Dissonance – Erica O’Rourke

DSC_0069

I LOVED this book. Basically, it’s about alternate realities. The plot line revolves around the idea that from every choice, new realities, or echoes, are created, each one different from the next. Walkers go between these echoes, fixing any problems that may arise. I loved all the plot twists, and can’t wait to read the next book, Resonance.

Cinder – Marissa Meyer

DSC_0063

This book is loosely based of off Cinderella. This one’s hard for me to explain without giving too much away, but its really good. The other books in the Lunar Chronicles are Scarlet and Cress.

Son – Lois Lowry

DSC_0085

If you haven’t read The Giver, you NEED to. Not only is it a classic, but it’s super amazing. Son is the conclusion to the Giver quartet, and it’s just as good as the first book. All the books in the Giver Quartet tell a different story *sometimes* involving overlapping characters or plot lines. In this book, everything is brought together. If you’ve read the Giver, and are wondering what happened to Jonas and Gabe, definitely finish the series.

Star Trek: Q Squared – Peter David

DSC_0087

BEFORE YOU STOP READING: this book is amazing. While it may be sort-of like Star Trek fan fiction, just know that it is very well written, and you don’t even have to watch Star Trek to like it. It had a very well thought out plot line, and a good ending.  I would totally recommend this, even if you aren’t a fan of the TV series.

City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

DSC_0083

This is a supernatural series about angels and demons. It also has a love story with lots of twists in there. A movie came out for it a couple years ago, and I thought it was very good, and found Jace very attractive. ABC Family will be showing the first episode of a new TV show called Shadowhunters on January 13.

Nook Books

The Martian – Andy Weiner

DSC_0094

I read this book after a kid in my English class did a book report on it. It was very good. A little technical, as I didn’t know what he was talking about for most of the book, but it was a very good story of survival. I would DEFINITELY recommend it.

The Heir – Kiera Cass

DSC_0100

The Selection Series is one of my favorite dystopian series of all time. I’m actually glad that a movie isn’t being made (as far as I know), just so the images I have in my head stay the same. The Heir is about the princess of Ilea, and takes place after America and Maxon’s love story. I would absolutely, totally, definitely recommend this book.

 

So that’s it! I read a lot more books this year, but I decided to only include my favorites. If you have any recommendations for the upcoming year, let me know! I always need more to read!

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Books of 2015

Leave a Reply

